Hindu Vedic deities

Vedic Deities :

According to our thought, all forms of manifestation are considered as divinity . Any kind of creation and dissolution is seen as a play of the divine being, we know as God . God is omnipotent, but can be seen only with the inner eye . We worship him in the form of an idol, in the form of some natural phenomena like the sun or the rain, in the form of the household basil plant and even in the form of a shapeless rock to whom we assign a divine identity ! Thus, over the times, an entire pantheon, representing millions and millions of gods from various aspects of life has gradually evolved . There are beautiful stories about each of the gods, stories which include natural as well as unnatural events, stories which describe how they lived like divine beings as well as mortals, had their share of joys and sorrows, enmity and friendship , disasters and achievements . These pulsating tales not only fascinate us but also add depth to our spiritual inclinations . They affect us in myriad ways – in our thoughts, actions, and goals . They are a source of joy, the guiding principle, the emotional anchor and also , the restraining hand . They are the all knowing, all pervasive, divine influence present in each one of us .
Their importance in Vedic Astrology increases manifold because many of these gods and goddesses are the ruling deities of the Rashis or Zodiac signs in our horoscope . So an awareness of their qualities and characteristics will provide valuable insight in understanding the nature and behavior of the persons who fall under their influence . There are 36 lakh God and Goddess in Hindu Dharma according to Vedas and Puran. The Hindu Dharma is divided into many types of Sampraday, Cast, sub cast etc. India is divided into many states and all States are followed differents types of cultural and rituals, languages, foods, cast and sub cast. Some Sampradaya and Deities are given below :

Vallabha Sampradaya

Madhva sampradaya

Nimbarka sampradaya

Cult of Rama

Shaivism sect 

Shaiva Siddhanta

Shakta Tradition (Shaktism )

Goddess Worship and Tantra

Worship and rituals 

Rituals of Puja

Sri Vaishnava Sampradaya

Hindu tradition and sects 

Vaishnava sect (Vaishnavism) 

Important Vedic Symbol – Tilak


Important Vedic Symbols – Aum (OM)

Varaha avatar

Bhuvaneshwari mata

Vaishnavi or Vaishno devi

Sheetala mata


Durvasa rishi



Agastya rishi


Pitra dev or Pitras


Rakshasa or Danav (devils)

Buddha or Lord Buddha

Ashwini kumaras

Parushram or Lord Parashram

Narad Muni or Lord Narad

Kuber or Lord Kuber

Bhairavi or Goddess Bhairavi

Bagulamukhi or goddess Bagulamukhi

Vaishnavi or Goddess Vaishnavi

Ganesh or Lord Ganesh

Yamdev or God of Death

Vishwakarma dev or God of Architecture

Ram or Lord Ram

Krishna or Lord krishna

Varun dev or Water lord

Vayu dev or Lord of Wind

Chandra dev or Moon

Surya dev or Sun

Indra dev

Agni dev or fire


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *